The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has elevated 116 members, including seven in the healthcare sector, to its College of Fellows. The honor is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession.

Prospective candidates must have demonstrated influence in several areas, including promoting the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession and advancing the living standards of people through an improved environment. Fellows are selected by a seven-member jury of fellows.

The elevated healthcare sector members and their AIA component affiliations include:

  • Lee Coplan, FAIA, CEO, Hord Coplan Macht, Baltimore (AIA Maryland)
  • Avi Grigorescu, FAIA, LEED AP, Lean Six Sigma BB, capital projects team manager, national facilities services, West Los Angeles Medical Center at Kaiser Permanente, Los Angeles (AIA California Council)
  • Sarah Meeker Jensen, FAIA, president, Jensen + Partners, Los Angeles (AIA California Council)
  • Greg Mare, AIA, EDAC, vice president, healthcare practice leader, Americas, AECOM, Columbus, Ohio (AIA Ohio)
  • Angela Mazzi, FAIA, senior medical planner, associate principal, GBBN Architects, Cincinnati (AIA Ohio)
  • Daniel White, FAIA, senior vice president, Gresham Smith, Chicago (AIA Illinois)
  • Stephen Yablon, FAIA, principal, Stephen Yablon Architecture, New York (AIA New York State)

For a complete list, visit the fellows directory on the AIA website at