The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has elevated 102 members, including eight in the healthcare sector, to its College of Fellows. The honor is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession.

Prospective candidates must have exhibited influence in areas including promoting the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession and advancing the living standards of people through an improved environment.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. The newly elevated members and their AIA component affiliations include:

  • William C. Ayars, ACHA, MBA, managing principal, Perspectus Architecture, Cleveland, Ohio (AIA Ohio)
  • Rocco Ceo, NCARB, LEED AP, professor, University of Miami, Miami, Fla. (AIA Miami)
  • William Kline, EDAC, ACHA, LEED AP, managing principal, Leo A Daly, Washington, D.C. (AIA Washington DC)
  • Bryan Langlands, FACHA, principal, NBBJ, New York, N.Y. (AIA New York Chapter)
  • Donald R. Powell, NCARB, RID, partner, principal-in-charge, BOKA Powell, Dallas (AIA Dallas)
  • Uma Ramanathan, principal, Shepley Bulfinch, Boston (Boston Society of Architects/AIA)
  • James Simeo, LEED AP, principal, CO Architects, Los Angeles (AIA Los Angeles)
  • Thomas Trenolone, design director and vice president, HDR, Omaha, Neb. (AIA Omaha, Neb.)

For a complete list, visit the fellows directly on the AIA website at