Now it its third year, Healthcare Design’s HCD 10 Awards will once again honor those who’ve made a significant mark on our industry over the past 12 months. Because any given design project—be it a waiting room remodel or multibuilding wellness campus—is a team effort, The HCD 10 recognizes professionals across the spectrum of design, with 10 different categories of nominees.

We’ve fine-tuned things a bit this year in our categories, which are as follows:

  • Architect
  • Interior designer
  • Provider (executive, administrator, clinician, physician)
  • Facility manager
  • Building executive (construction/engineering)
  • Educator
  • Association or foundation executive
  • Researcher
  • Rising star (under age 40)
  • Outstanding organization (firms or healthcare organizations).

What used to be our “owner” category has been clarified under the “provider” umbrella: Anyone from the healthcare organization who has a significant stake in design decisions, from nurses to CEOs, can be nominated here (though we still have a separate category for facility managers). Note also that we’ve clarified the “building executive” category to call out both construction and engineering disciplines. Finally, we’ve expanded last year’s “firm of the year” category to create an “outstanding organization” designation—so now, healthcare systems and hospitals, in addition to A/E/C, interior design, landscaping, and consulting firms, are also eligible to throw their hats into the ring.

The fine print: We’ll be focusing on contributions made to the healthcare design industry specifically within the past 12 months. So in your nominations, please be specific about projects and work done during this time period, and include photos if possible. Also, anyone who’s already been named among Healthcare Design’s HCD 10 or Most Influential lists within the past three years is not eligible.

Wondering if you can nominate yourself? Yes, indeed. If you’re particularly proud of the year you’ve had, tell us. (Or get your marketing department to do it. Either way.)

Here’s the nomination link: The extended deadline is Friday, Nov. 21. Let the back-patting begin!


For more on previous winners, click the links here:

The HCD 10 for 2013
The HCD 10 for 2012