Healthcare Design announced the winners and finalists of its 2023 Healthcare Design Showcase awards program, now in its 23nd year of celebrating the best design and architecture in the healthcare industry.

Sixteen jurors appointed by our partner organizations (The Center for Health DesignIIDA, and ASID) evaluated this year’s project submissions.

Here’s a look at the 2023 winners and finalists:

Award of Merit


Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center (Akron, Ohio), submitted by HGA


The University of California, San Francisco, Nancy Friend Pritzker Psychiatry Building (San Francisco), submitted by ZGF


Honorable Mentions


AHN Wexford Hospital (Wexford, Pa.), submitted by HKS Inc.


D’Youville University Health Professions Hub (Buffalo, N.Y.), submitted by CannonDesign


MetroHealth Glick Center (Cleveland), submitted by HGA




Hackensack University Medical Center, Helena Theurer Pavilion (Hackensack, N.J.), submitted by Page and RSC Architects


Jordan Specialty Hospital (Amman, Jordan), submitted by BSA LifeStructures


Steadman Philippon Medical Building (Basalt, Colo.), submitted by Boulder Associates


UNC Rex Cancer Center (Raleigh, N.C.), submitted by BSA LifeStructures


UW Health, Pleasant T. Rowland Transplant Clinic (Madison, Wis.), submitted by Flad Architects

The Award of Merit and Honorable Mention award winners will be recognized during an awards luncheon at the 2023 Healthcare Design Conference + Expo, taking place Nov. 4-7 in New Orleans. All accepted projects will be published in the August 2023 issue of Healthcare Design.