The American Society for Healthcare Engineering (ASHE) of the American Hospital Association is recognizing select members for their dedication to improving the healthcare physical environment. ASHE will be presenting several awards during its 54th Annual Conference and Technical Exhibition August 6-9 in Indianapolis.

The Crystal Eagle award, considered ASHE’s “lifetime achievement” award, will be presented to Rajendra “Raj” N. Shah, PE, MBA, CHC, BSME, CHFM, FASHE, corporate project and plant manager at Bayonne Medical Center in Bayonne, N.J. Shah, who has 35 years of experiences, has contributed to the field of healthcare facility management in a variety of ways, including leadership roles in ASHE and several ASHE affiliated chapters.

The President’s Award, which is presented at the discretion of the sitting ASHE president to an individual who goes above and beyond to optimize the healthcare physical environment, will be presented to York Chan, CHC, SASHE, CHFM, facilities administrator for Advocate Health Care in Illinois.

Also at the Annual Conference, ASHE will recognize nearly 50 recipients of Ilse B. Almanza scholarships and members who attained senior (SASHE) and fellow (FASHE) status within ASHE. The FASHE designation is bestowed on those who have been ASHE members in good standing for at least seven years and have supported ASHE through education, leadership and written contributions. The following members are new FASHE recipients:

Michael A. Hatton, RPA, SMA, FASHE with Memorial Hermann Health System in Houston

Edmund L. Lydon, CHFM, FASHE, with Beverly Hospital – A member of Lahey Health in Beverly, Mass.

Terry M. Scott, MBA, CHFM, FASHE, with Memorial Hermann Health System in Houston

The SASHE designation is bestowed on those who have been ASHE members in good standing for at least five years and have supported ASHE in terms of education and leadership.  The following members are new SASHE recipients:

Laurie Anseth, CHFM, SASHE, with JLL/Main Line Health, Radnor, Pa.

Alison W. Brisson, CHFM, SASHE, with Dartmouth-Hitchcock in Bedford, N.H.

David L. Fashant, CHFM, SASHE, with Fairview Health Services in Edina, Minn.

Kenneth Gibson, CHFM, SASHE, with Sodexo in San Diego, Calif.

Lynn Kenney Koffel, SASHE, with the Center for Health Design in Concord, Calif.

Lennon A. Peake, SASHE, with Koffel Associates in Columbia, Md.

Robby J. Robertson, SASHE, with Lahey Health in Burlington, Mass.

ASHE will also be recognizing the following emerging regional leaders from ASHE’s regions. The Emerging Regional Leader award recognizes people for their contributions to the fields of health care engineering and facilities management; planning, design, and construction;  safety; clinical and biomedical engineering; and technical management.

Region 1: Alison Brisson, CHFM, SASHE, Darthmouth-Hitchcock, Bedford, N.H.

Region 2: Robert Decker, CHC, CHFM, CBRE/Medstar Harbor Hospital, Baltimore, Md.

Region 3: Matthew C. Snow, PE, Baptist Health Paducah, Paducah, Ky.

Region 4: Thomas E. Gibson, CHFM, CHC, CHSP, Memorial Regional Hospital, Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Region 5: Matt E. Royal, CHFM, CHC, Eskenazi Health, Indianapolis

Region 6: Danielle Gathje, CHFM, JLL/HealthEast-St. John’s Hospital, Maplewood, Minn.

Region 7: Michael Joseph Wood, CHFM, CHSP, CHEP, Parkland Health & Hospital System, Dallas, Texas

Region 8: Mark A. Sears, CHFM, Faith Regional Health Services, Norfolk, Neb.

Region 9: Mark Morucci, CHFM, CHC, Kaiser Permanente Antioch Medical Center, Antioch, Calif.

Region 10: Marnie Boomer, Providence Centralia Hospital, Centralia, Wash.

Visit here for more information on ASHE awards.