The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has elevated 73 member-architects and three non-member-architects, including four in the healthcare sector, to its College of Fellows. The honor is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession of architecture and society.

Prospective candidates must have exhibited influence in areas including promoting the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession and advancing the living standards of people through an improved environment.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. The newly elevated members working in healthcare and their AIA component affiliations include:

  • Adele Houghton, president, Biositu, Houston, (AIA Houston)
  • Walter B. Jones, LEED, EDAC, senior vice president of campus transformation, The MetroHealth System, Cleveland, (AIA Cleveland)
  • Frances T. Moore, principal, architect, SmithGroup, Los Angeles (AIA California Council)
  • Mark R. Walsh, design principal and global director of technical design, Perkins & Will, Chicago, (AIA Chicago)

For a complete list, visit the fellows directly on the AIA website at