Healthcare Design’s HCD 10 is an annual opportunity to celebrate the hard work of professionals serving the healthcare design industry in a myriad of ways. As we all know, this is a team sport, and there are a lot of positions being played.

Acknowledging that, The HCD 10 identifies winners across 10 categories of professional (including one for Outstanding Organization). It’s our way of not just applauding individual efforts that push projects and the industry forward but also recognizing that all these specialties—from architecture to research to education—inform the success of healthcare design broadly.

On the following pages, you’ll find our profiles of the winners, outlining details from their nominations that wowed the editorial team.

Next, we’ll celebrate them in person at an awards dinner taking place at HCD Forum, Sept. 6-8 in Savannah, Ga.

For now, join us in congratulating our 2023 winners!

The 2023 HCD 10 are:

Architect—Haewon Kim-LaBroad, principal, director of clinical planning, Hoefer Welker

Interior Designer—Megan McNally, associate director of interior design, Ryan A+E Inc., Minneapolis

Owner/Provider—Natalie Miovski Hagerty, senior director, facilities planning, design and integration, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia

Clinician—Virginia Prendergast, director, advanced practice nursing – neuroscience, Barrow Neurological Institute, Dignity Health, Phoenix

Facility Manager—Martin Misicko, vice president, facilities operations, design and construction, engineering and maintenance, emergency management and safety, environmental services, and sustainability, Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, Va.

Building Professional—Corey Gaarde, principal, project executive, IMEG, Naperville, Ill.

Educator—Zhipeng Lu, associate director, Center for Health Systems and Design, and assistant professor, Department of Architecture, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Researcher—Jeri Brittin, director, social and behavioral sciences, HDR, Boise, Idaho

Team MVP—Damian Huneycutt, healthcare client leader, principal, DLR Group, Charlotte, N.C.

Outstanding Organization—The MetroHealth System, Cleveland